Getting Older

I’m tired. These days it seems like I am always tired. I could blame this on the 13-hour work-a-thon I did on Sunday, or the fact that I have worked 7 of the last 8-days and still have another 4 to go, but I did get a decent night’s sleep last night and I had some time to myself and I don’t know why I haven’t recovered yet. I guess that this is just how it is when you are almost 60 years old.

This makes me think about retirement again. While flopping around the house doing “nothing” is not very satisfying, working a full 40-hours (or more) 5-days a week (or more) is tedious and seems to get more difficult all the time. In my younger days I would work for 12-hours 6 or 7 days a week for months-on-end just for the fun of it. I wish I could work 3-days, or maybe 4-hours a day or some other kind of part-time arrangement. That would be ideal.

If I could remake the world maybe one concept would be to postpone official “full-retirement” to something like 75 or 80, but when you hit 60, you automatically go to a 20-hour work-week for those last Senior Years. This way you could still stay connected to your field and have something to do with yourself and earn some money – but you could also slow down and have more time to yourself and, well, just rest a little more.

On the other hand, that probably wouldn’t help in my situation. The reason why I deliberately scheduled the job on Sunday is because I wanted to do the work then. The reason why I waved off the help of others is because I wanted the satisfaction of doing the whole job myself. The reason why it took me 13-hours is because I’m an anal-retentive perfectionist dweeb and I wanted the job to be done right rather than fast.  So, even if I were only paid for 20-hours, I’d probably still be working 6-days a week anyway and I’d still be just as tired. I guess, in the long-run, maybe things are OK the way they are – for now.